Hologram of Liberty: Is the Constitution Really Broken?

Posted: April 4, 2012 in Constitution, Liberty
Tags: ,

What’s tub-thumping got to do with the Constitution?

A tub-thumper is one who argues for or promotes something vigorously with noisy, violent, or ranting public speaking.

Noisy and violent come to mind when the subject of the U.S. Constitution is breached. I watch my twitter feed some days and I’m drawn to get on the bandwagon to bash our “unconstitutional” government leaders. Obama happens to be the latest in a long line of targets for verbal bashing. Being a Constitutional law professor, you’d think he’d know better. Maybe he knows it better than we think (I’ll explain a little later).

Obama said, “that an unelected group of people (Supreme Court – the branch that’s suppose to monitor the feds – like letting kids grade their own papers) would somehow overturn a duly constituted and passed law (Congress).” He called it “unprecedented.” Read here. This is easy to swallow with a gulp of kool-aid. The courts do this all the time. It’s their job.

When the cat and mouse agree, the grocer is ruined. – Arab proverb

Why hasn’t the constitution stopped Obamacare? How has the Federal Government, past and present, overstepped our strict constitution? What about checks and balances?

I’ve always considered myself a tub-thumping constitutionalists. I always thought the Constitution was carefully constructed by our Founding Fathers (lawyers) to limit and restrain government’s lust for complete control and power. However, with each passing year,  the Leviathan strengthens its crushing grip on its prey (us). Once upon a time, not so long ago, I fought in the left-right war. I couldn’t put to rest that gnawing feeling that we (liberal, conservative, moderate, independent) are being played as fools. If the Constitution gives Congress only specific powers, how do the States and the people end up with the short straw in this experiment of republic government? Why are our freedoms eroding? Maybe we weren’t really meant to be free. Stay with me now. Don’t put the tar pot on the fire just yet.

Last year I read Hologram of Liberty Kenneth W. Royce (a.k.a. Boston T. Party). This single book, well researched and documented, should be read by all in the Libertarian/Liberty movement. Just as Government “education” was not established to educate, but to school the masses to be useful to the elites running the show, our Constitution has built-in loss of freedom clauses allowing expansion of Big Government.

In “No Treason”, Lysander Spooner states, “The Constitution has either authorized such a government as we have had, or has been powerless to prevent it.”

Don’t take me to be anti-American. I love my country. I’m just exhausted by government.  After reading HoL, I gave up parchment worship. When addressing the Virginia ratifying assembly in 1788, Patrick Henry (one of my favorite liberty-lovers) said, “I look upon the constitution as the fatal plan that could be possibly be conceived to enslave a free people.” When you search and dig deep for answers to those gnawing questions about the “backsliding” Federal Government, you may come to Mr. Henry’s conclusion.

For further self-education, I highly recommend Hologram of Liberty! Take the time to read it before ranting about the next Big Government encroachment into your life. Then you’ll begin putting the puzzle pieces together.

If you read it, please let me know what you think.

Semper paratus!

 

Leave a Reply

